MY STUDIO APARTMENT:: The Living Room

10 Jun
Afters are more dramatic when you use really bad Befores
See?
It’s time for a progress report. You’ve seen my bedroom, you’ve seen my dining room, and without further ado and procrastination, here’s my living room! I use the term “room” lightly because I live in a studio, so in truth it’s all really the same room. As you can see, my bed is within arm’s length of my sofa, which is within reach of my dining table. I moved into this space with much apprehension, but if you can survive a dorm room, you can survive a studio. Right? 

I’ve actually enjoyed living in a studio WAY more than I thought I would. For one thing, it’s a million times easier to keep it clean, which is of the necessity because if I leave a shirt on the floor there goes 50% of my floor space. Secondly, it’s only a billion times easier to decorate. Move in a bed and a sofa, hang a couple paintings, and the apartment was practically done. I have made a bit of progress since the initial move. I added a dividing bookshelf (from Ikea, natch) and arranged and rearranged all of the items on it 19 times.

I’ve also since hung my skateboards. This in itself is a MAJOR feat, as I’ve owned them for over a year and a half and had never managed to hang them. You’d think there would be an abundance of tutorials on how to hang a skateboard on a wall, surely a million teenage boys before me faced the same conundrum, but I couldn’t find any. Not even one. So I MacGyvered it with some fishing line (no joke, fishing line). 

I also added a coffee table, or two rather. I wish I could say that buying two small coffee tables was an act of brilliance, that I realized I would need them to be light and portable so that I could move them to the side every time I did a Gillian Michaels workout DVD (don’t judge), or each time I needed to pull the sofa bed out for guests (which is often now that it’s summer). But alas, none of that occurred to me. I simply bought them cause they were cute. And marble.
So that’s where it stands today! I have plans to take proper photos with something better than an ipad sometime soon, but I did a post on Emily Henderson’s living room on CamilleStyles today, and I wanted to show her how much I admire her and everything she touches in the off chance that she somehow ended up here today. Emily Henderson, if you’re reading this, I LOVE YOU AND EVERYTHING BLUE VELVET. 
Want More?
Can a couch be your spirit animal? If so, Henri’s mine.
xoxo Cristina

PHOTOS: PERSONAL
widget
14 Responses to “MY STUDIO APARTMENT:: The Living Room”

  1. Phoebe June 10, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    #1. I'm about to move from a spacious 1 bedroom to a studio apartment, so seeing your space work so nicely is both timely and inspirational!#2. I love your stuffed pig.

  2. Cristina Cleveland June 10, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Hey Phoebe,#1. I'm excited for you, I've had SO much fun with mine! I went from 3 stories to studio so if you wanna talk about losing closet space, I'm here for you.#2. Awesome that you noticed him. His name is Piggy.

  3. Yolonda J. Washington // DesignRoundup June 10, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    So far so good..everything is coming together nicely. I really love the color of the sofa! YOLONDA J WASHINGTON | http://www.DESIGNroundupblog.com

  4. Samantha Baldwin June 10, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Love what you've done, especially the pops of blue and the graphic skateboards.

  5. Cristina Cleveland June 10, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Thanks Yolonda 🙂 I deliberated on sofa color for a while, but it HAD to be the blue!

  6. Cristina Cleveland June 10, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    I'm in love with the skateboards, I need to take some better pictures of them!

  7. Anonymous June 10, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

    Love the coffee table idea, where are they from?

  8. carolina budi suwandi June 11, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    this is so nice and warm… love the skateboards

  9. Cristina Cleveland June 11, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    They're from West Elm, I'll try to add all the links to the post asap

  10. Cristina Cleveland June 11, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Aw warm is such a nice descriptor! I love the skateboards too, definitely one of my favorite things I own.

  11. Breakfast at Cindis June 13, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    I love what you've done with it !You've made a small space amazing, love the skateboards on the wall.xo,CindiBreakfast at Cindi’s

  12. Jenny July 15, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    I love seeing your little piggy on the bed. It makes me feel better about incorporating my "fried rabbit" in with my new bedding decor update 🙂 Never grow up! never never.

  13. Cristina Cleveland July 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    This is awesome. I never thought anyone would notice Piggy! Fried rabbit deserves a spot in your decor for sure 🙂

  14. Cristina Cleveland July 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Thank you Cindi! The skateboards are one of my favorite parts too, I just wish it didn't take me so long to get them up!

Leave a Reply

