WHAT I WORE:: SPRING STAPLES

24 Apr
Spring must-have: Panama hat
A non-black purse
Updated gladiator
Lightweight scarf
I’m pulling a Kate Middleton and wearing something twice. 
Ok thrice, this is the third appearance of this romper on the blog (I knew the day would come when I ran out of  outfits to do outfit posts with). You may recognize it as my ACL attire and also the outfit I wore on family vacation, which incidentally is virtually the same as this one. Whatever. 
Fun fact: This romper used to be a full length pantsuit. A strange vintage find in which the pant legs ballooned out and then tapered down to be tight around the ankles (picture a black clown suit). So one day, I took a pair of scissors and cut the legs off to create what is now a staple of mine. If you look closely, you’ll see that I never hemmed the edges (and don’t intend to).
Seeing as this is a Spring Staples post, you’ll probably seeing these pieces throughout spring. For example those sandals – they are going to get me through spring AND summer with their slightly edgy basicness. 
Another fun fact: I buy men’s scarves. I always prefer the fit and color of them, and this scarf is no exception. I can’t actually imagine a man wearing it, but I know I wear it at least once a week. Scarves are perfect for spring because they’re a good piece to wrap up in when the temperature suddenly drops, or the AC is on too high. I always have one with me at work.
The hat is another fav, but I must warn you: there is a fine line between park ranger and cowboy with this hat, depending on how far back or forward you wear it on the head. Just something to keep in mind.
HAT J.CREW / ROMPER VINTAGE / SCARF FRENCH CONNECTION / SANDALS ZARA / PURSE ZARA

What are your Spring Staples? Did I leave anything out?
xoxo Cristina

PHOTOS: NIKKI CHANEL

widget
6 Responses to “WHAT I WORE:: SPRING STAPLES”

  1. Vanda April 24, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    Love this scarf and Panama Hat, as you said a MUST for Spring & Summer!When I am not wearing my Panama Hat, I hang it during winter in my bedroom wall, as a decoration(among other hats) and it reminds me the trips, holidays and lovely moments!….Kiss you!

  2. charmeuse April 24, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    nice bag;)http://www.charmeusee.blogspot.com

  3. Cristina Cleveland April 24, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Thanks! It was actually really cheap but I love it because the leather looks buttery and expensive 🙂

  4. Cristina Cleveland April 24, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    That is such a good idea Vanda! I usually just leave mine sitting on a pile of books during the winter, but I should hang it on the wall for some fun wall decor. And I LOVE that it reminds you of your holidays. I wore this one to Hawaii last Christmas so it definitely reminds me of sunny days too. xoxo C

  5. Miro - Dose of Dash April 24, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Love the gladiators! And also the way you draped the scarf so that the combo of the scarf and the flared rompers give you a great hourglass shape!Crazy that this year the weather has been so inconsistent in Austin – today it's freezing! I feel like usually it gets warm and stays warm by the time SXSW is over.

  6. Cristina Cleveland April 24, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Ha I agree! I just posted about how cold it is on the fb page. I took these pics on Sunday when it was nice and warm, but today this outfit would not fly.

Leave a Reply

