BLUE VELVET

12 Feb

 
Most, nay all, of my decor decisions are very very well-considered. ‘Well-considered’ is what I like to call the drawn out decision-making process also known as indecision. I can agonize over paint chips, let items sit in my online shopping cart for weeks, and imagine then re-imagine a room for months. This may sound painful to some, but I find inexplicable joy in every second of it.

But then, sometimes, you just know. There is no considering, there are no second thoughts, sometimes a purchase seems so right it smacks you in the head with “why don’t I already own this??”And that’s how I felt with the couch. Actually I can very easily tell you why I didn’t already own it, and that’s quite simply because Ikea doesn’t sell a blue velvet couch.* And so far my sofa curriculum vitae includes Goodwill and two well-loved Ikea sofas.

But on a certain Black Friday 2 weeks after a certain birthday, I was feeling like a grown up and decided it was time to finally give in to a deep blue love that was born in the pages of Domino and continues to this day. Which is nearly a decade. So on that Black Friday I bought a couch, months before my move-in date, long before I had even found the place I would be moving into. Reckless? Maybe. But with the help of copious discounts on top of Black Friday sales, he was worth it.

sofa, West Elm

His name is Henri. He may not look like much yet but we’re very much in love. So Henri, meet Fuji Files. Fuji Files, this is Henri. I hope that we can all be friends.

xoxo Cristina

*I feel compelled to add that on my most recent trip to Ikea they were in fact selling a couch that was blue velvet of sorts. In other news they are also selling a wingback chair now!


widget
5 Responses to “BLUE VELVET”

  1. Jen of MadeByGirl February 12, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    cute! I also would love to know where that chair is from in the first pic…saw the same one at Isabel Marant store!! anyone know???Madebygirl.blogspot.comMadeByGirl.com

  2. Pardon My Fashion February 13, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    Henri is HOT…good find!xoxohttp://www.PardonMyFashion.com

  3. Cristina Cleveland February 13, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Haha thank you! He's so fine

  4. Miro - Dose of Dash February 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    love all the blue velvet!! so chic and luxe. can't wait to see how henri accessorizes! Is he european? preppy? modern?

  5. Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Randomly stumbled upon your site and had to comment to say that I just recently bought myself a blue "velvet" slip cover for my Ikea couch and have been in love ever since… even blogged about my new addiction to blues at home too… Cheers to blue crushing! x Mallorywww.mallorymclane.com

Leave a Reply

