WHAT’S ON MY NIGHTSTAND + GIVEAWAY

11 Feb

 

So things are shaping up around here! On my first night I laid my head down to sleep, and things didn’t feel quite right. So I got up and moved my bed to another wall. Laying there, things still felt a little off kilter… Three moves later I finally found a spot that was juuuust right. In an effort to save space I ditched a nightstand (you saw the pair here) and pushed my bed up against the wall. Here are a few flicks of my nightstand as it looks now.

Here’s a quick run down of what I keep on my bedside table:

  • table – a diy project using Ikea’s Rast drawers
  • antique lamp – Howl Interiors, a furniture design studio I worked at
  • orchids – my favorite flower, notoriously difficult to maintain
  • book – my favorite book of the moment, Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende
  • journal – my Q&A a Day journal, it asks you one question a day and lasts five years, so you can compare your answer for that question on that day over five years. What a great gift, thanks M
  • perfume – if I had a signature scent, this would be it: Soleil Liquide Memoire
  • glass of water – I always keep one by my bed when I sleep. Zara Home glass and Anthropologie coaster
  • skull print – gifted by MadeByGirl, it gives my space the edge it needed


You read right, GIVEAWAY time!
And now the most exciting part: MadeByGirl is giving away an item of YOUR choice to one super lucky Fuji Files reader!
TO ENTER: 
This giveaway is now closed.
You could of course choose this gold skull, but there are so many good pieces to choose from. This giveaway will be open for one week (closing Monday February 18).
Good luck!
This giveaway is open to everyone, including international readers!
xoxo Cristina
PHOTOS: PERSONAL

widget
44 Responses to “WHAT’S ON MY NIGHTSTAND + GIVEAWAY”

  1. Phoebe February 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Hi Cristina β€” I liked the Fuji Files Facebook page. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Yolonda J. Washington // DesignRoundup February 11, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Love your DIY nightstand! Thanks for the giveaway! β™₯, LONDA designroundup.blogspot.com

  3. Kimberly Rampersad February 11, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    I liked your facebook page.k_rampersad03 at yahoo dot com

  4. Helkinn February 11, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    I love the color of your nightstand ! Thanks to you & MadeByGirl for the giveaway.Just liked your FB page (Helkinn Heartbeats)

  5. Mandy german February 11, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    liked!!

  6. Lia {Smart n Snazzy} February 11, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Liked, of course πŸ™‚ I love your nightstand, it's beautiful. Who doesn't love an amazing Ikea hack? I'm envious of your orchids, I can't keep mine alive 😦 xxLia Smart n Snazzy

  7. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Hey Lia! I'm onto my FOURTH orchid plant now, their blooms last forever but so far I've had no success with getting them to re-bloom. Maybe fourth time's a charm?xo Cristina

  8. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Thank you Helkinn, I spent forever in the paint aisle choosing between 50 shades of green!

  9. doseofdash.com February 11, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Liked the Fuji Files page on FB!Now that you've got me looking at MadeByGirl I see so many things I want!Plus, love the 5 year diary concept. I have the "The Happiness Project" one.

  10. doseofdash.com February 11, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    I've heard that if you completely submerge the pot in cold water every 10 days that helps them stay alive a long time. Not sure if that helps with re-blooming, though.

  11. Laura February 11, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Hey! I sat near you on Sunday at the Camille Styles event & just found your blog from her site. Consider your facebook page (and your blog) "liked." This giveaway looks great!

  12. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    I agree looking at MadeByGirl I could imagine 20 spots in my place that need a piece. And The Happiness Project has been on my reading list I need to get to it!

  13. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    That's so awesome Laura! Where were you sitting?

  14. Juliana February 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I liked the Facebook page as Jules Akers. I love your set up, the orchid is lovely! I am a black thumb but I do have an African violet that has made it a couple years, mainly because my mother told me to leave it be when she gave it to me! Thanks for the giveaway!

  15. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Props to you Jules, I don't think I'm ready for an African violet yet. My mom had a big one too and they seem so temperamental!

  16. Cristina Cleveland February 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    I add a couple ice cubes to mine every few days (ok.. once a week) I've read that tip in a few places but then again, my orchids have never re-bloomed so I can't exactly vouch for it!

  17. Christine February 11, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    All followed on Facebook as Christine Presto! I've been thinking about moving into a studio apartment, so it is great to read how you've been going about it – I really have NO furniture except for some bedroom stuff at this point, so now or never, right? Finding the right place seems to be the most difficult. With that though, I think the gold lips in French would be perfect anywhere with what I have design wise so far. Would be perfect πŸ™‚ Good luck on continuing to build out your new little home!

  18. Mae February 11, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    I liked you on FB! This is a wonderful giveaway, thank you!have a fabulous weekx

  19. Anathalia February 12, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    I love how you styled your nightstand! Beautiful! Liked on FB! πŸ˜‰

  20. Kat Skull February 12, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    So, my last name is skull. I think this print is meant for me πŸ™‚

  21. MaeveBe February 12, 2013 at 3:16 am #

    I liked you on FB. AND i love love love love love that skull picture! belvender@gmail.com

  22. Ingrid P February 12, 2013 at 3:42 am #

    I liked you on FB. If I won something from there, I could spruce up my boring college dorm!

  23. Aimee February 12, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    Consider yourself liked! Don't know why I wasn't liking your page sooner… Awesome giveaway! Love her shop.x

  24. β™‘β™₯♬ Louis ♬β™₯β™‘ February 12, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    I like Fuji Files on facebook (Louis H Uffmire)your nightstand looks great, love that greenThank you for hosting this giveawayLouispumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  25. Cristina Cleveland February 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    If you have no furniture yet then this is definitely the time to take the plunge! I agree you have to find the right place, I got one with high ceilings because it doesn't feel quite so tiny, I looked at the same floor model with a regular ceiling and it felt like a hotel room!I totally want the gold lips too, cassandra lavalle of coco+kelley had a gorgeous lip painting framed in her closet that I can't get over! (in rue mag)

  26. Cristina Cleveland February 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Wow, it's fate!

  27. Cristina Cleveland February 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Ingrid your dorm room would be INFINITELY cooler than mine was, I went the typical poster route but a framed gold skull would be way more chic.

  28. Sara February 12, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    I liked your facebook, excited I found your blog!

  29. Coki Milktoothrain February 12, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Liked!Even though I am wondering if you'll consider only US readers…

  30. Charley February 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Liked your FB page. And I Love your blog!

  31. Valentine February 12, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Wow ! Their jobs are amazing ! Thanks you so much for the contest ! I like your page (name :Valentine Scherbatsky)Thank you again !XoxoBlondy Valentine

  32. Cristina Cleveland February 12, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Hi Coki, it's open to international readers as well! xo Cristina

  33. LΓ©onie.Bird February 13, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    I liked your page ! Thanks for the giveaway concours !kisses from France

  34. Solarride Rivernik February 13, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    Liked page as Solarride RivernikI love the gold skull, but her accessories are gorgeus! Can't I pick one if I won? XD

  35. Maya February 13, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    I'm in and I hope I win!Maya Ostrander

  36. fatema A February 14, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    awesome!GFC: fatemaemail: mclasb11@hotmail.comfacebook name: zaara khan

  37. Rebekah February 18, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Done and done! Girrrrllllll… really dig the decor. I did something similar recently, was in bed fighting sleep with Pinterest, and saw a picture…bam…out of bed rearranging room. Thankfully, I really like the change. That doesn't mean I won't rearrange it again tonight πŸ™‚ >> oandpandme.wordpress.com <<

  38. Laura February 22, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    I think I was at your table! I was there with my mom πŸ™‚

  39. Cristina Cleveland February 22, 2013 at 2:09 am #

    Oh yall's bouquet was so cute! Lovely meeting you πŸ™‚

  40. Cristina Cleveland February 22, 2013 at 2:10 am #

    Haha definitely not the last time for us room-rearranging-addicts.

  41. Taylor Benson February 26, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Hi. I was wondering if you have a tutorial on how you made your DIY nightstands? Like color and sources for the golden hardware peices?Thanks so much!

  42. Jessica February 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    I came from MBG blog, I second Taylor's questions! Absolutely lovvvvve the kelly green. Sources on the hardware would be great too plz!I'd love to do a dark navy paint on the walls in the bedroom with those coloured night stands with teak mid century dresser and armoire and touches of pink like your orchid! Love it. Looking forward to reading your blog and I especially like your DIY files!!JessicaOntario, Canada

  43. Cristina Cleveland February 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Hi Taylor! I've gotten a few questions so it looks like I'll need to put a post together! I'll try to get one up this week πŸ™‚

  44. Cristina Cleveland February 26, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    Hi Jessica, thanks for letting me know I didn't know I was on MBG! How exciting! I'll work on getting up a tutorial post this week with all of the sources. Your idea for navy walls with the teak, green and pink sounds like a gooorgeous combination. Have you seen Em Henderson's study? I think there are similar colors in there.

Leave a Reply

