HOW TO MOVE YOUR CLOSET

28 Jan

Moving furniture is a piece of cake, but moving one’s wardrobe? For a blogger… this is kind of a big deal. Luckily my friend De came to my rescue! She had this nifty system of moving clothes and it worked a treat. To be honest I had planned on just carrying as many hangers as would fit into my arms and throwing them into the back of my car leaving a trail of dropped clothing along the way (which is totally how I’ve moved in the past – don’t lie you have too) but De wasn’t having it. Apparently she got this method from Martha Stewart so there may be better instructions for this method somewhere on the internet, but in this case I thought pictures would be better than words.

As you can see, you slip a garbage bag up (from below) over your clothes, about 5 hangers at a time, then tie the bag tightly at the top. I could carry 4 bags at a time and stack them neatly into the back of my car, no dropped clothes and no falling off hangers. When I got my bags to their final destination, hanging in my new closet, all that was left for me to do was untie (or if you’re impatient, rip) the bags to reveal your neatly hanging clothes: organized, hanging, and in tact in their new home. The whole process was astonishingly fast and easy. I mostly tried to untie the knots and re-use the bags, but it’s also quite fun to rip them off in a rather Hulk-like fashion. GENIUS, right?

I don’t know how I’ll ever re-pay De (a bottle of Prosecco might do the trick) but I fully plan to pay this kindness forward to my next friend making a move.
My shoes however, that’s a different story.
xo Cristina

widget
18 Responses to “HOW TO MOVE YOUR CLOSET”

  1. Vanda January 28, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    What a GREAT and CLEVER idea!!!!!!!!!! So much easier, dust-free and easy!!!! Good TIP, def!!!!Kisses my dear, can't wait to see your new house!

  2. Vintage Market Place January 28, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    OMG this is genius!!!Where was this when I moved all the time? ;)Amy

  3. Nancy Tran January 28, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    SMART 🙂

  4. Lia {Smart n Snazzy} January 28, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    This is ABSOLUTELY brilliant! When I move again, I'll definitely be doing this!xxLia

  5. Leah January 28, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Such a great tip for moving your closet. It's the best way to keep things neat and tidy without all the work of unpacking and hanging everything back up.

  6. Cristina Cleveland January 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I can't take credit for it, but it is SUCH a good idea! You're right it's also a great way to keep the dust of moving and furniture building off of clothes

  7. Cristina Cleveland January 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I know! Where was this the last 5 times I've moved? It's ok, now we know 🙂

  8. Cristina Cleveland January 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    You're smart Nancy Tran

  9. Cristina Cleveland January 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    Definitely, it was a lifesaver.

  10. Cristina Cleveland January 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    I can't describe how easy this was to unpack, it seriously felt so easy that afterwards I said "that was it?"

  11. starbiesandsangrias.com January 29, 2013 at 2:18 am #

    seriously genius.

  12. Maggie Adofo January 29, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Ahh. This is brilliant! Moving will be soo much easier for me now lol xoMaggieLove Scrapbook

  13. nancy @ adore to adorn January 29, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    These photos are brilliant! Excellent way to move your wardrobe! =)xo,nancy

  14. Cristina Cleveland January 30, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    Makes me feel good to hear that Maggie

  15. Cristina Cleveland January 30, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    It was soo easy Nancy!

  16. Miro - Dose of Dash February 4, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    This is such a fabulous idea! I am definitely going to try it when I move this summer!

  17. Whitney Gonzales February 19, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Used this idea this weekend while moving! It was super easy, and so happy I saw this before tackling the flight of stairs up to my bedroom in my new loft.Thanks girl for posting!

  18. Jess | the Jess Journals February 24, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    Such a good idea – definitely going to do that when I have to move!

Leave a Reply

