HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO US

10 Nov
Rocking the peplum top
Hey readers. Wednesday was my birthday! And now I’ve begun my 26th year with a bang (more on that to come, I don’t want to jinx anything yet). Wednesday was also my mom’s birthday (isn’t she beautiful?). Yup, that’s right, we have the same birthday. Sharing a birthday with someone is the coolest, especially your own mom. Yunno that giddy joy you get when you give a really good Christmas present and you just know they’re going to love it? I get to feel that on my birthday. On top of getting birthday presents (I got some good ones that are sure to make an appearance here on the blog very soon). So happy birthday mom, thank you for all of the invaluable gifts you’ve given me this year (and I’m not just talking about the much-appreciated trips to Zara and the Cheesecake Factory). I’m a very lucky girl. And I’ve had a very lucky year. 
I moved halfway across the world, reconnected with old friends, made new ones, pursued new dreams, let go of others, took some huge risks, had most of them pay off, learned from my mistakes, started a new job in a new industry, made huge steps towards finding my niche (in work, style, friendships) and continue to get a little closer every day. It would be nice if I woke up on the morning of my 26th birthday and was all grown up. Or at the very least knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. I feel closer now than ever before, but thinking about all of the possibilities can make my head spin. My response to the headspinning overwhelmingness of growing up is to take it one day at a time. And when even that is too much? One hour at a time. Like any big task – an essay, laundry, taxes – the best way, the only way, is to take one step at a time, baby steps are ok too. And that is precisely how I’m approaching the monumental task of growing up. If that doesn’t work? There’s always the hope that next year I’ll wake up on the morning of my 27th birthday and have it all figured out. 
xoxo Cristina

p.s. And furthermore, we all know you don’t really have to grow up until you’re 27 anyway. Right? 

BLOGLOVIN * TWITTER * FACEBOOK

widget
3 Responses to “HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO US”

  1. Nancy November 11, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    This photo is so precious!

  2. Cristina Cleveland November 11, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Thanks Nancy!

  3. design roundup November 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Happy Birthday Cristina!♥, Londa

Leave a Reply

