QUESTION:: TIGHTS + OPEN-TOED SHOES

27 Apr

My great fear when it comes to wearing open-toed shoes with tights is seeing that seam across my toes, old lady styles. Abstract artist Tauba Auerbach (pictured above) pulls it off with aplomb. I have a similar pair of shoes in pink… do I dare wear them with tights?

Do you wear tights & open-toed shoes?
xo Cristina

SOURCE: VOGUE

widget
11 Responses to “QUESTION:: TIGHTS + OPEN-TOED SHOES”

  1. nancy @ adore to adorn April 27, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    I love the look and the concept of the tights/open-toed shoes! Though, I've only tried it with black on black…but I'm game to try colored tights against a contrasting pair of open-toed shoes. =)xo,nancy

  2. Cristina @FUJI FILES April 28, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Oh true I've tried black on black before, much less daunting! And colored tights are another fun option Nancy!xo Cristina

  3. Carrie April 28, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    I would like to try this, as most of my shoes are open toe. I think it can look edgy and fun depending on the outfit … it certainly works in the example pictured. 🙂

  4. Cristina @FUJI FILES April 29, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    Carrie – I'm gonna try it too! What color are your shoes?

  5.  Ms. Allee April 29, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Love the look!*I don't personally do it but I admire everyone who makes a perfect outfit with it =)!*xXx

  6. Ferren April 30, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I think part of the reason the look works here is because she's working with neutral colours. I wonder if it get's a bit weird when you bring in the more fun colours?

  7. Prim and Pimp April 30, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    i do it all the time! but it has to be with a pair of chunky heeled sandals…if the heel is too thin it doesn't look right (unless the shoes are close backs)xoxoP&P

  8. jas April 30, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    this look is starting to grow on me!http://forallthatjas.blogspot.com/

  9. Cinz May 1, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I do this look sometimes….but i have the same concern as you with the whole seam across the toes, it is hideous in an old lady style for sure! lolI've tried black tights with my gold with green suede heels, i know it sounds funny but it looks great in person:)Cinzhttp://cinzee.wordpress.com

  10. Cristina | FUJI FILES May 3, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Ferren – I hope it works in other colors, because mine are pink!P&P – I totally agree, it's gotta be chunky heelsjas – Me too, these comments have me motivated to try it!Cinz – Green gold and black sounds killer!

  11. Bromeliad May 21, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Yes. I did it once with open-toed booties. But it was black on black.Rockin necklace on Miss Auerbach

Leave a Reply

