P.S. I MADE THIS:: STRAWBERRY PIE

9 Apr
I’m trying something new today, in more ways than one! I baked my very first strawberry pie.  And I’m posting my very first recipe on the blog. I never meant for this to be a food blog, but I think of this as just one more idea to inspire beauty in your day. For example, you could eat this pie whilst wearing Dannijo, sitting on your brightly decorated patio. I’m full of ideas. Or on a sugar high.

I couldn’t decide between fresh strawberries or cooked strawberries, so I did a bit of both! Think La Madeleine meets Marie Callender meets homemade strawberry jam. I couldn’t find a recipe that satisfied my craving, so I sort of made one up! A layer of cooked strawberries on the bottom and a layer of fresh ones on top. I highly recommend devouring this with a scoop of ice cream. Or two. Or vanilla yogurt for a waist-friendly option!

Crust
2 cups All Purpose Flour
1 tsp salt
2/3 cup shortening
1/3 cup water
 
Filling
Strawberries (I used two 16oz packs)
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 cup sugar

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix all crust ingredients in a bowl, form a ball with the dough and let sit in the fridge for 30 minutes
  3. Finely slice enough strawberries to fill a 9-inch pie tin, keep a separate bowl of strawberries to add on top at the end
  4. Add the cornstarch and sugar to strawberry filling
  5. Roll dough into a circle and place it in pie tin
  6. Fill the crust with strawberry filling
  7. Bake for 40 minutes
  8. Let cool for 15 minutes, then add fresh strawberries on top



I’ll be honest, it’s pretty finger-lickin good for my first time. If I can do it, you can too.
FUN FACT: I do not own a rolling pin. I used a wine bottle
I would love to hear your thoughts!
More recipes?
Never again?
Lemme know! xo Cristina


widget
8 Responses to “P.S. I MADE THIS:: STRAWBERRY PIE”

  1. ChinkyGirLMeL April 9, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Oooh drooling! That strawberry pie looks soooooooooo good!

  2. Cristina @FUJI FILES April 9, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Thanks Mel!

  3. Amanda {feast.fashion.faves} April 9, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    wooooow great job!!it looks great..and soooooo yummy!!!<3Amandafeast.fashion.favesFACEBOOKTWEET Me!

  4. Carrie April 9, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I've never made a pie, so I am thoroughly impressed. It sounds delicious! Would love to hear more about your kitchen adventures … 🙂

  5. Dressed4Success April 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    mMmMmmM…FACEBOOK TWITTERDressed4SuccessClodet Illustrations…1Kiss!*

  6. chiffon maternity bridesmaid dresses April 12, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    WOW!!It's amazing!!!You did a great job!The pie looks yummy!

  7. Cristina @FUJI FILES April 28, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Yajaira – It was!Amanda – Thanks girlCarrie – Thank you for the encouragement, I'll try to keep up the food posts

Leave a Reply

