BEAUTY FILES:: RED OMBRE LIPS

11 Mar

We’ve seen a few variations of the ombre lip where dark edges faded to a lighter center (Gucci, Miu Miu). I quite frankly was skeptical about the real world application of ombre lips. I feared looking like the girl whose lipliner was too dark or not filled in properly. And I know this look is not for everyone. However, this newer variation seen this Paris Fashion Week at Nina Ricci has me reconsidering ombre, with its bright red edges and rich berry center. To me it looks like their lips have been stained eating the juiciest of red cherries. And this version is much easier to master!

Step 1. Moisturize your lips with something like Elizabeth Arden’s 8 Hour Cream
(or if you’re on a budget, my personal fav is Aquaphor!)
Step 2. Apply a bright red lipstick to the whole lip, I’ve chosen Mac’s classic Russian Red
Step 3. Using a makeup brush or fingers, dab a deep berry red like Mac Hang-Up just in the center of your lips, blending it into the lighter red
Let me know if any of you try this! I was thrilled to see Melody try out her own multicolor manicure – to great effect!
xoxo Cristina
widget
7 Responses to “BEAUTY FILES:: RED OMBRE LIPS”

  1. Vanda March 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    I can do this at home!!!!!Loved the OMBRE even on lips!!!(already love ombre hair, ombre shirts!!!)♥

  2. Melody March 12, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    I like this!! The berry inside is subtle but very cute. I'm happy you like my nails ; ) One of my close friends even did it on herself.

  3. Liz - So Much to Smile About March 12, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    Wow! I hadn't really seen this before but it looks beautiful! Ombre is a fave trend of mine so I'll have to try this out!

  4. Amanda {feast.fashion.faves} March 12, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    there's something very very sultry and alluring about the crimson red ombre effect into the deep red color. preeetty.<3Amandafeast.fashion.faves

  5. Bougiehippie March 12, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Its cute but looks more like red drink stained lips

  6. Mia Marionette March 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Hi there! Great collection of photos!! I love going through your blog!! http://blog.miamarionette.com/

  7. Ferren March 14, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    I like this a lot. I've been seeing a lot of red lips lately and I tend to shy away from it because I have very full lips. I think I may try it with this approach though– I may look less clownish.I tried the multicoloured nails, but it didn't go well because I didn't have the right colours. I'm going to get some pastels and retry!Ferren x

Leave a Reply

