Tree Trunk Inspiration

2 May
About a year ago now I started a diy project that has majorly, majorly stalled. On a weekend trip to the country I decided tree stumps would make beautiful side tables and stools and proceeded to lug them into my backseat. I know West Elm sells them at $199 each, so that means I saved $800 (sort of). We spent the day  driving around off road (poor car) turning over tree stumps and checking for decay, termites and other creepy crawlies. I had a fear I’d be the cause of the great Sydney Termite Infestation of 2009, and they’d trace it back to one overly ambitious girl’s diy lightbulb moment. Also, the stumps weighed 8 tons each.
Finally I found 4 that met my bug-free standards, and they had some character too!
The beginnings of my proudest diy yet. Too bad the trunks are still sitting in my downstairs storage. Since we got them in there I haven’t found the strength to transport them up to the bedroom or balcony, where I intend for them to look magnificent as bedside tables and outdoor seating. I’m officially adding it to the to-do list for next weekend. For now, here’s some inspiration.
16 Responses to “Tree Trunk Inspiration”

  1. Hope Chella May 3, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    I love the log theme and the outdoor shower. Great post!!!!xoxoHope 🙂

  2. knk May 3, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    looks different but its nice to see them in home your home is so beautiful nice outdoor shower

  3. stylechanges May 3, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    nice outdoor shower

  4. Lisa Lisa Lisa May 3, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    That is so cool! I love your project! Your home is lovely as well. Do you have any other DIYs? I'll have to backread your blog… =)Thanks for your comment!

  5. Tenshi Style May 3, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    This is the first time I've heard about tree trunks as beside tables but I have to admit they look really nice.They make interesting furniture.Hope your car is ok after this. Tokyo and Seoul Dreams

  6. LUU H. May 3, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    omg, what a great idea ! cant wait to get my own place !

  7. Anna Katrina May 3, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    those are amazing inspirations! i would love to see the finished product!Anna Katrinahttp://passportglamour.blogspot.com/

  8. Emma May 3, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    woaaaaah!! that's a DIY project!!I love it!BTW, nail charms are so weird, I would never pierce mine!You have a great blog, I'm following you :)xoxo!

  9. Missy M May 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    such a fun post xMissyHigh street + Couture =http://thefashionfusion.blogspot.com

  10. Emma May 3, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    I have a question, hope you can help mehow do you cut images like this?http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jwnvB0z65Ck/S4WbbYXty1I/AAAAAAAACtQ/s4NA9HoFsjM/s1600-h/erin+wasson+fall+2010.jpgyou know, like they were cut with scissorsthanks so much!! 😀

  11. Fashion Monstre May 3, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    ahhh i love the whole log thing going on! and to answer your question i have no idea who makes those shirts, i just stumbled upon it in my pictures but ya i would wear that shirt everyday if i owned it

  12. Mary May 3, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Love this! The log theme is sooo great!xxMKhttp://delightfulbitefuls.blogspot.com/

  13. THESTREETFASHION5XPRO May 3, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    this is art

  14. Fuji Files May 4, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Thank you for all your comments! Major motivation to finish this project, I'll try to post pics of the final product! Emma – I use a free program called Gimp which you can download. I use the "Paths (pen) tool" to cut images. Hope this helps!xx Cristina

  15. Trop Rouge May 4, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    hands down best shower!My mother and I really want this for our back yard. im goign to copy paste this and send it to her email haha!!

  16. Lindsay With An "A" May 4, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    What a great DIY project! Wishing you the best of luck in finishing them…I know they will look great! :)http://lindsaylovesitall.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

